Visit our new website

Canadian Amphibian and Reptile Conservation Network - Réseau Canadien de 
Conservation des Amphibiens et des Reptiles

Carcnet Blue Racer Award Recipients

l`Année:Lauréates / Lauréats: photo:
2012Jim Bogart
University of Guelph

2011Wayne Weller

Wayne Weller of Ontario Power Generation (OPG) for both his private and professional efforts to map and monitor the diversity of herps in Ontario.  Wayne was one of the co-founders (with Mike Oldham) of the Ontario Herp Summary, the largest herp atlas in the world.  He continues to work and add to this database and remains one of the biggest contributors of records to the project.  Wayne spends more personal time than any other non-professional herpetologist that I know in the field documenting species occurrence records.  Most occurrence records for Northern Ontario were contributed by Wayne. Through his employment, Wayne has risen to become a senior environmental scientist with OPG and he continues to strive to have his employer consider Herp SAR and to institute monitoring programs at its generating stations. Wayne has also collaborated or assisted many of us in our own research and conservation efforts and has managed to keep publishing despite being engaged in other environmental duties.  He is a long-standing CARCNET member and conference attendee. 

Wayne with Stephen Hecnar
2010Dr. John Gilhen
Curator Emeritus of the Nova Scotia Museum

In recognition of his continuing contribution to public understanding of the issues of amphibian decline, the importance of amphibians to aquatic ecosystems and the status of the wood turtle in Nova Scotia through his publications in broadly accessible nature magazines and lectures to the general public and amateur specialist groups. His annual spring "salamander meander" has been an annual public program through the Nova Scotia Museum for 27 years!

His 1984 volume, the Amphibians and Reptiles of Nova Scotia, remains the definitive work on the 24 species then known to occur in the province (one has since been added).

Full citation is available at:

2009no award

2008no award

2007Dr. David M. Green
McGill University

Dave(R) with Ron Brooks (L) and Pat Gregory (M)
2006Dr. Patrick T. Gregory
University of Victoria

Pat (R) with Ron Brooks
2005Dr. Ronald J. Brooks
University of Guelph

2004no award

2003Robert R. Johnson
Toronto Zoo, Curator of Amphibians

Robert R. Johnson (L) with Ben Porchuk (M) & David Galbraith (R)
2002Dr William (Bill) B. Preston
Manitoba Museum

2001Dr. Francis Cook
Canadian Museum of Nature

Dr. Cook (left) with Christine Bishop